Autumnal Equinox

Autumnal Equinox

“Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower.” –  Albert Camus

A time to release – Fall is the season that honors the natural process of death within the great cycle of life (birth/spring, life/summer, death/fall, rebirth/winter).

The fall equinox is also “Nature’s Thanksgiving” as a time of harvesting what we have created and releasing what no longer serves us.

Trees guide us through this season of death without fear.

As night becomes longer than day trees begin to stop the process of photosynthesis. Their leaves turn vibrant colors as a last celebration of the year they have lived.  Trees release their leaves in a beautiful explosion of color that calms our heart.

Reflection – As we prepare for the year ahead ask yourself, “What has changed for me in the past year?  What am I willing to release? How can I best prepare myself for Winter?  What do I have to share with others?  How can I bring my life into balance?

Balance – The autumnal equinox occurs when the Sun crosses the celestial equator from the northern half of the sky to the southern half of the sky. On this day, daytime and nighttime are equally 12 hours long.

The Fall Equinox reminds us to sit in stillness among the chaos and listen to our inner voice. When we do this, we can reset ourselves.

Fall Meditation

“For man, autumn is a time of harvest, of gathering together.  For nature, it is a time of sowing, of scattering abroad.” – Edwin Way Teale 

September – is originally from the latin word “septum” meaning “seven.”  It was used to describe the “september mensis” or “seventh moon month.”

January and February were not originally recognized by the early Roman lunar calendar, which consisted of 10 moon months. September was the seventh month because the new year started in  March. To the Greeks, seven was Hepta, like the seven sided Heptagon.  The Heptatonic Scale is also based on seven musical notes.

The seven planets, Mars, Mercury, Venus, Saturn and Jupiter along with the Sun and Moon inspired the concept of seven heavenly lamps in the nights sky. These “lamps” became known as the “watchers” or heavenly sages that guided and inspired the creation of calendars and time.

Reorganize – Seven soon became the organizing number from which everything else revolved.  The seven days of the week are named for these seven planets.

  1. Moon – Monday – Moon’s Day: (German-Mani) (Roman-Luna/Diana) (Greek-Artemis/Selene) (Mesopotamia-Nanna/Sin) (Egyptian-Hathor/Osiris/Thoth/Horus)
  2. Mars – Tuesday – Tyr’s Day: (Norse-Tyr/Tiwaz son of Odin, Wodan) (Roman-Mars) (Greek-Aries) (Mesopotamia-Nergal)
  3. Mercury – Wednesday – Wodan’s Day: (Norse-Wodan/Odin) (Roman-Mercury) (Greek-Hermes) (Mesopotamia-Nabu) (Egyptian-Thoth/Maat)
  4. Jupiter – Thursday – Thor’s Day: (Norse-Thor) (Greco-Roman-Zeus) (Mesopotamia-Marduk)
  5. Venus – Friday – Freya’s Day: (Norse-Freya/Frigg) (German-Eostre) (Roman-Venus) (Greek-Aphrodite) (Mesopotamia-Inanna/Ishtar/Astarte) (Egyptian-Isis)
  6. Saturn – Saturday – Saturn’s Day:Time (Greek-Cronus) (Roman-Saturn) (Mesopotamia-Ninurta)
  7. Sun – Sunday – Sun’s Day: (German-Sunna) (Roman-Sol/Helios) (Greek-Apollo) (Mesopotamia-An/Anu/Utu/Shamash) (Persian-Mithra) (Egyptian-Horus/Amun/Atun/RA)

“Step out of the circle of time, and into the circle of love.” – Rumi

One Comment Add yours

  1. Irmine Hero says:

    Again a lot of wisdom and passages through things and time. Thank you Laural


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s